Let’s Get Analytical…with Google Analytics!

This past week I spent a considerable amount of time familiarizing myself with Google Partners to become Google Analytics Certified. I only took a beginners training course, but I feel like I am now much more knowledgable than before about this specialized Google feature, especially considering I did well on the exam!

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 8.40.32 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 9.56.36 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 10.01.51 PM.png Farrell, C. (April 25, 2017) Google Analytics Certification screenshots [png.] Retrieved from Google Partners

I’m so excited to have this certification and be able to put it on my resume, because it shows that I’ve learned how to create reports of websites for audiences, demographics, and viewers. Companies that I might eventually apply to work at might see this as an advantage for hiring me because I am certifiably knowledgable about analytics.

I consider my personal brand (for now) to be related to related to social media, (model) United Nations, and my interests in Public Relations and politics. I think that working on certifications such as google analytics is a good start to my future career.

Although with my main goal of working for the United Nations it may not seem like being Google Analytics Certified would mean anything, but as my research about the job opportunities for me show, I need a masters degree and a few years of Public Relations related experience; and like I said this certification could help me get PR jobs.

On the other hand, a Public Relations officer or Communication director for the United Nations could use google analytics to track their committees’ websites and the sites of related NGO’s to track what kinds of people look at the sites and where the user clicks on the site’s pages. They then could change/ gear their sites to create reports about site usage and potentially change the layout of the site.

With google analytics one can also see the language and area of the world where the user looking at the site is, and since the UN is all about international relations this could be an interesting tool to look into.

 

 

Leave a Reply

